A change in government leadership in the Legislative Assembly

Main Story:
Leader of Government Business taking swift action  

The Cayman Islands general elections held on Wednesday 20 May 2009 saw a change in government leadership in the Legislative Assembly with nine members being elected from the United Democratic Party, five members from the People Progressive Movement and one elected independent. The 15 elected members of the Legislative Assembly represent the Islands’ six districts, four each from George Town and West Bay, three from Bodden Town, two from Cayman Brac and Little Cayman, and one each from North Side and East End.
The new Cabinet, presided over by the Governor Mr Stuart Jack CVO and made up of three official and five elected members and their portfolio, is as follows:

Hon Donovan Ebanks
Internal & External Affairs

Hon Samuel BulginLegal Affairs

Hon Kenneth Jefferson
Finance & Economics

Hon McKeeva Bush OBEFinancial Services, Tourism and Development

Hon Rolston AnglinEducation, Training and Employment

Hon Julianna O’Connor-Connolly
District Administration, Works and Gender Affairs

Hon Mike AdamCommunity Affairs and Housing

Hon Mark ScotlandHealth, Environment, Youth,
Sports and Culture